Thanks to our Volunteers


In celebration of Volunteers’ Week …………….

HRUFC Senior Players’ Presentation & Club Awards Evening was held at Latton Park on Saturday 18th May 2019.  It was an opportunity to thank our army of Volunteers for making everything we do at the Club possible; from Volunteer Coaches, Administrators, Team Managers, First Aiders and Club Officers, to those that sit on the Executive Committee.

The Rugby landscape is changing which impacts us all!  The RFU is currently dealing with a challenging financial period and is making reductions in investment across both the professional and community game.  As a consequence we are expected to do more and more for ourselves as the RFU delegate their authority, which puts more strain on us, as a Club, and on our army of Volunteers.  As this landscape continues to evolve we have to be especially thankful to our ‘super’ Volunteers who go above and beyond volunteering and really do dedicate an awful lot of time to the Club.

The Club Executive Officers bear the brunt of this work:

President: Alan Price; Chairman: Tracey Wedd; Vice-Chairman: Steve Foreman; Chair of Rugby: Paul Tucker; and Honorary Secretary: Chris McFerran.

We also have another ‘super’ Volunteer in our ranks that really does personify the notion of multi-tasking:  as well as being a Wife and Mum to 3 children, she finds the time to be a Team Manager; First Aider; GMS Administrator; Data Protection Guru; Safeguarding Officer; Membership Secretary and 300 Club Manager.  To this end, Nina Holmes has recently won the Essex County Volunteer of the Year Award and progresses to the National Finals, a Black-Tie Dinner at Twickenham, where she could be crowned RFU Volunteer of the Year.

This year’s Club Awards were presented to:

Locke Award (for services to the Minis Section):   Mike Lyons & Stuart Kelman

Spooner Award (for services to the Youth section):   Teresa Keane

Hurley Award (for services to Rugby):   Neil Boggas

President’s Award (for services as a Club Officer):   Phil Hirst

Chairman’s Award (“Club Man”):   Adam Clark

HRUFC says “thank you” to all their fantastic volunteers!
























Share online: