Ely 17 - 36 Harlow I XV

Date: Sat 7th Jan 2017

Time: 2pm

Match Report

Harlow’s first team passed their first test of the new year when they defeated Ely 36-17 on Saturday.

On a heavy pitch the red men started well. Good kicking from half-backs Woodington and Smith kept the home team’s forwards on the back foot and allowed Harlow to exert some early pressure. This was converted into points via a Smith penalty and a Weston try near the post to give Harlow a 10-0 lead after 12 minutes.

The rest of the half continued in a similar fashion. Harlow defended well and repeatedly put the home team under pressure by kicking deep.

Despite wasting a few opportunities to score, notably when Ross Stalley was unable to keep with and support an excellent Mcglone breakaway, Harlow did convert two more chances before halftime – through Roberts and Weston. Both conversion were successful leaving the score 24-0 at the break.

The second half began with Ely laying seige to the Harlow line. The Red men’s defence was superb – repelling attack after attack for 15 minutes. Finally, the pressure broke allowing Harlow to clear. From the subsequent lineout, Harlow turned the ball over before chipping into the Ely 22. Confusion amongst the home team’s back three allowed Mcglone to sneak through the middle of the ruck to score. Smith converted.

The last 15 minutes saw Ely score three tries as Harlow rang the chances. However, there was still time for another well worked try. Good interplay from the forwards allowed Sean Lynch the sauce to beat his man before laying the ball off to Whitby to score in the corner.

The win leaves Harlow 8 points clear at the top of the league with 8 games to play.

Speaking after the game Director of Rugby, Lee Harron said: “This was another great result. The boys put the work in over the Christmas break and it showed.”

Tries: Michael Weston(2), Shaun Roberts, Ryan McGlone, Scott Whitby

Conversions: Danny Smith (4)

Penalty: Danny Smith

Team: 1. James Ephgrave, 2. Mark Bowering, 3. Jack Christie, 4.Daniel Evans, 5. Andrew Quinn, 6. Shaun Roberts, 7.Michael Weston, 8 Kain Claridge, 9. Charlie Woodington, 10. Danny Smith, 11. Scott Whitby, 12 Ross Stalley, 13 Ryan McGlone, 14 Sean Lynch, 15 Rob Mackie. 16. Martin Cunningham, 17 Alfie Clark, 18. Charlie Robinson