Date: Sat 10th Sep 2016

Time: 3pm

Match Report

Harlow started their league campaign against a young West Norfolk side. Going through a transitional period.

Harlow started well playing up the slope and into the rain not allowing West Norfolk to settle.
Fly half Danny Smith capitalised on West Norfolk’s errors by scoring two penalties in the 19th and 25th minute. Giving Harlow a 6-0 lead.
Playing most of the first quarter in West Norfolk’s half Harlow just couldn’t find that finishing touch to score a try.
Finally in the 27th minute Harlow backs created space For Scott Whitby to score a try in the corner. Converted by Smith. 13-0.
A bit of complacency allowed West Norfolk to intercept a pass and run the ball under the posts. 13-7.
Another penalty from Smith gave Harlow some breathing space 16-7, Only for Harlow to give W Norfolk another break away try, which they converted. 16-12.
Harlow Full back Rob Mackie scored just before half time making the score 23-12 at the break. It was only Harlow’s errors that were keeping West Norfolk in the game.
The second half started brightly from a solid line out second row Marcus Twiner brought down the ball and drove through, off loading to Number 8 Claridge to score. 28-12, Smith converting 30-12.
After 50 minutes Mackie scored his second try and Harlow’s 4th after a fantastic run
From Whitby crunching through two tackles and offloading the ball to Mackie. 35-12. Another penalty from Smith 38-12
Harlow last try was created from a fine catch from prop Stevenson, who off loaded to the speedy Dale Stalley to score Harlow’s 5th try. 43-12 conversion Smith 45-12.
West Norfolk didn’t give up and scored a 3rd try. 45-17 converted 45-19.
Danny Smith finished the game with a cheeky drop goal in the last minute.
Giving Harlow a convincing win. 48-19

Tries: Scott Whitby, Rob Mackie (2), Kain Claridge, Dale Stalley
Conversions: Danny Smith (3)
Penalties: Danny Smith (5)
Drop goals: Danny Smith

Team List:
1. James Ephgrave 2. Mark Bowering 3. Martin Cunningham 4. Mark Twiner 5. Kerry Palmer 6. Shaun Roberts 7. Wayne Heapy 8. Kain Claridge 9. Rhys Powell 10. Danny Smith 11. Scott Whitby 12. Ross Stalley 13. Andrew Tarsay 14. Dale Stalley 15. Rob Mackie 16. Daniel Stevenson 17. Ryan McGlone 18. Andrew Quinn