Date: Sat 17th Dec 2016

Time: 2pm

Match Report

Harlow confirmed their place at the top of division III NE with a convincing win over Stowmarket, the only side to beat them in the first round of league matches. The game was played in dense fog. It allowed the match to go ahead but only just. In the first half of the season Stowmarket snatched victory by a two point margin and Harlow were determined to consolidate their top of table place in the return fixture. They made this clear with tries from Jack Christie and Ross Stalley in the first 8 minutes plus a conversion from Danny Smith to give them a 12- 0 lead. The visitors cut the margin at once with a penalty and then had to battle out the next quarter of an hour in their 22 as Harlow fought to cross their line.

In the end it was Stowmarket who scored, stealing the ball and sprinting in for a run away try. Taking the score to 12 – 8. It was fly half Danny Smith who lead the Harlow response, first with a penalty and then with a try which he converted for a 22 – 8 lead to Harlow at the turnaround.

Harlow started well in the second half with a try from No.8 Kain Claridge converted by Smith to take the to 29 – 8.  Harlow came under pressure mid way through the half when Stowmarket broke away and ran in two tries both converted. At 29 – 20 and with 10 minutes plus injury time to go it was a wake up call. A try from Alfie Clark started the response and then replacement prop Danny Fitzgerald added another showing the big men can sprint. Two minutes later another try for Ross Stalley converted by Smith completed the Harlow counter attack. It took just 7 minutes to take back control and they held on for a 46 – 20 win.

Tries: Jack Christie, Ross Stalley (2), Danny Smith, Alfie Clark, Danny Fitzgerald, Kain Claridge

Conversions: Danny Smith (4)

Penalties: Danny Smith

Team: 1. James Ephgrave, 2. Mark Bowering, 3. Jack Christie, 4. Mark Twiner, 5. Kerry Palmer, 6. Shaun Roberts, 7.Charlie Robertson, 8 Kain Claridge, 9. Charlie Woodington, 10. Danny Smith, 11. Sean Lynch, 12 Ross Stalley, 13  Ryan McGlone, 14 Scott Whitby, 15 Rob Mackie. 16. Danny Fitzgerald, 17 Daniel Evans 18 Alfie Clark.